RSS

Welcome Severed Press Author, Nathan Robinson

27 Oct

I would like to introduce an English author with a knack for the macabre. Nathan Robinson’s wonderfully cheerful personality belies his ability to instill fear in his readers, so sit back and enjoy meeting this talented author.

Right-o. Hi everybody!

I’ll be quick, I’ll introduce myself then tell you a little bit about my debut novel. I know you’re busy, so I won’t keep you long.

I’ve been reading for as long as I can remember. I loved Roald Dahl as a kid, so after that horror was a natural step after his twisted children’s tales. It was just so out there and different from everything else. Horror, done well, is never boring as it reminds us of the fragility of our lives and the fact that we aren’t invincible. We can bleed and we can quite often be hurt yet still live to tell the tale.

English was the only thing I was good at school. I wasn’t the best, but it was the only thing I vaguely triumphed at. From about the age of twelve onwards I wrote stupid little stories for my own entertainment. Now for some reason all those C’s stuck with me and here I am today; a minor Z-list author who’s simply happy at being listed on Amazon.

Three years ago my wife and I found out that we were having twins, so I decided to have a proper go at writing and completed my first short story about zombie chickens. I called it ‘The Chicken in Black’ and sent it off to a competition on http://www.spinetinglers.co.uk where a month later I found out I’d won first prize. A cheque for £100 followed and there I was; a writer who didn’t just write for fun. I’d been paid!

More short story acceptances followed from many different editors and publishers including Rainstorm Press, House of Horror/Panic Press, Black Hound Press, Static Movement, Knight Watch Press and many more including seven more monthly winners on Spinetinglers. I wasn’t exactly rolling in it but it’s nice to have a hobby that pays a little back. One of the proudest moments of my ‘career’ would have to be my acceptance for story ‘Top of the Heap’ by www.pseudopod.org run by great bunch of people who turned one of silly stories bloody marvellous podcast. I’d been adapted which was great but then it started to get fantastic reviews, it was even voted one of the best stories of 2011 on the forum. Out of over fifty stories throughout the year I came in second favourite. Plus they gave $100 for the rights. Why would I not want to write?

I write when I can. I used to write at night, but with two young children in the house sleep becomes a precious commodity, currency even.

Some would see this as bad at the time, but I was made redundant as a builder and had to start over, first washing cars in the depths of winter for minimum wage, then I landed a job delivering office furniture the length and breadth of the country which consisted of me sitting in the passenger seat of a van for three hours a day.

So what do I do for three hours?”

“Anything you want.”

So I write and read on the company dime, as long as I get the job done they don’t care. I love it. I read a book a week, even taking up the post of chief book reviewer at www.snakebitehorror.co.uk where people send me free books for me to give my opinion on. Please don’t hate me.

I completed my first novel this summer and sent it off to Severed Press, an Australian horror publisher whose anthology Dead Bait I thoroughly enjoyed. My thought being that the horror market in the Southern Hemisphere wouldn’t be as saturated as the rest of the world. Strangely, I was right. Severed Press accepted ‘Starers’ and bingo I was a fully fledged author with my own book out, I wasn’t sharing the pages with anybody, just me. I never fantasised about mansions, supermodels and Ferraris. All I ever dreamt about was having my own book published, now that dreams come true what is everything that comes after? Bonus? Extras?

Who cares? I’ve family that loves me and a book deal, so whatever happens next . . . it’s all a dream anyway.

I was inspired to write Starers one evening when I was drawing the curtains to my living room and I saw an old man at the bus stop across the road staring at our house. Now, we live in a newly built house and we often have people looking and pointing at our house as it stands out from the older properties on our street, so this was nothing unusual. For whatever reason I looked out the window about an hour later and the old man was still stood at the bus stop still staring at our house. So then the seed popped. What if he was still there in the morning? Still staring. So I started writing, first as a short story before it took off on its own tangent. What if more people joined the old man? What if a crowd of hundreds appeared outside my house, just staring. What would you do? What could you do? So I made up a typical family called the Keene’s and put them in that situation and let the story flow from there. So much so I’m currently penning a sequel with a third in the planning stages. All this from an old man staring from across the road; there must be something wrong with me.

Imagine if you found yourself the attention of the entire world . . .

The dysfunctional Keene family awaken one Saturday to find several strangers and neighbours staring at their home. Events turn more bizarre when more hypnotised strangers arrive, all seemingly transfixed with those within the Keene household. As the ominous crowd gathers and grows larger by the hour the Keene’s find themselves under siege in their own home. With hundreds, then thousands of bodies pressing against the walls of their home, a rising body count and grim premonitions plaguing their dreams, the family must work together to discover who or what is controlling the Starers.

Starers published by Severed Press and is available on Kindle and paperback from Amazon

Product Details

http://www.amazon.com/dp/B009KC27CS

Nathan Robinson lives in Scunthorpe, England with his wife/editor and two adoring twin sons. He writes best at 77mph and enjoys world beers and running through the woods. He’s had many short stories published in various anthologies. Starers is his first novel.

Follow Nathan on facebook at www.facebook.com/NathanRobinsonWrites where you can find a complete list of his stories.

Links:

Twitter @natthewriter

Goodreads- http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/2502817.Nathan_Robinson

Amazon Author page- http://www.amazon.co.uk/-/e/B0078D2XQG

Image of Nathan Robinson

Thank you Nathan, it has been a pleasure to meet you and I’ve enjoyed learning about your growth as an author. Starers can be purchased on Amazon through the links provided on this page, get your copy of this great read now! Please take some time to peruse the links to Nathan’s sites. Keep writing good stories, Nathan, there can never be too many. Follow your dreams and and never quit!

As always, I would like to remind everyone of the power of the “Like” button on facebook and Amazon pages. It is a great way to  support your favorite authors and it helps build future reader’s confidence in their work. Also, take the time to leave a review on Amazon, this is another important tool that can help your author’s progression up the literary ranks. Whether indie author or publisher backed author, give them all a chance. There are thousands upon thousands of great stories out there to enjoy, and I guarantee you will find plenty to keep you happily reading for the rest of your life! May your dreams forever be filled with my  nightmares.

Mark

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 27, 2012 in Guest Authors

 

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
